Our Governors

To contact our governors please mark for the attention of Mr Andrew Martin, Chair of Governors at admin@stnicholas120.herts.sch.uk.

The governing body consists of 14 members they govern a voluntary aided school.

The governing body consists of: 

a) two parent governors

b) one LA governor

c) one staff governor

d) one head teacher

e) eight foundation  governors

f) one co-opted governor

The foundation governors shall comprise: one ex offico governor (the principal officiating minister of the parish in which the school is situated) and seven foundation governors appointed as follows: 2 by the Diocesan Board of Education, 2 by the Parochial Church Council of the Parish in which the school is situated and 3 by the Deanery in which the school is situated. Our governors and their role are outline below

Head teacher (governor by virtue of office)
Miss Adelaide Yarwood* - Headteacher

Ex Officio Foundation Governor (x1)
Father Chris Bunce - Principal Officiating Minister St Andrew and St George

Foundation Governors (appointed by the Diocese x2)
Mrs. Elizabeth Jeanes - Vice Chair of Governors

Foundation Governors (appointed by the PCC x2)
Mr Alex Monaghan 
Mr Andrew Martin* - Chair of Governors

Foundation Governors (appointed by the Deanery x3)


Mr John Carpenter *


Elected Parent Governors (x2)
Mrs Carly White *
Mrs Andrea Thompson *

Elected Staff Governors (x1)
Mrs R Coultart * Teacher Governor

LA Governors (x1)

Co-opted Govenors

* denotes a Governor who is also a parent of a child at St Nicholas

Record of Pecuniary and Personal Interests

Summary of Governors Attendance 2017-2018


Our school is committed to open and transparent communication at all times and so papers and information for all governors sessions are available to all governors on our FROG and internal email systems. 

Within our structure we have: 

  • The FGB
  • Resources and Admissions committees
  • Marketing and policies working parties
  • These are made up of the following: 
  • FGB - All   Clerk - Sue Brinded


John Carpenter  Chair,  Carly White,  Alex Monaghan, Adelaide Yarwood.  Associate: Sue Blakemore and Clerk Sue Brinded.


Chris Bunce Chair, Lisa King Vice, Andrea Thompson, Adelaide Yarwood, Clerk - Sue Brinded


Adelaide Yarwood